Congratulations To The 2018 Tappahannock Scholarship Winners!

Our firm hosted a scholarship contest in 2018 to help young people in the Tappahannock area pursue a higher education. The competition was open to students at five Tappahannock area high schools: Essex High School, Rappahannock High School, Northumberland High School, Washington & Lee High School, and Lancaster High School.

Applicants were asked to answer the following prompt in an essay or video:

Do you think that the growing use of apps like Snapchat has contributed to a rise in distracted driving? If so, what can we do to stop people from using these apps while they drive and, in turn, prevent distracted driving accidents?

We received many applications for this scholarship. The following are the 3 winners.

1st Place – Cole Dann

Cole Dann plans to study Diesel Mechanics at J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College. When I was a child, I received my first set of tools from my grandfather and since then I knew that I wanted to pursue a career in mechanics. When I am not helping my dad work on our tractor or vehicles, I enjoy hunting, fishing, or hanging out with my friends.

Watch his video here.

2nd Place – Sarina Darby

Sarina will be attending Virginia Commonwealth University in the fall to major in forensic science in hopes to become a forensics lab technician. She is currently attending Rappahannock High School where she has participated in many different activities such as softball, volleyball, and basketball as well as Beta Club, Soda Club. She has been an officer of her class for 4 years.

Read her essay here.

3rd Place – E. Claire Wilmore

Claire is from Tappahannock, Virginia and attends Chesapeake Bay Governor’s School and Essex High School. She played volleyball and softball at Essex High School and enjoy playing sports. She will be attending Christopher Newport University where she plans to pursue a degree in Biology with an interest in medicine. She was selected as a Rocovich Pre-Med Scholar at CNU and will be participating in CNU’s President’s Leadership Program.

Read her essay here.